EDITORIAL



This issue of CHIMIA highlights the success of the **Fall Meeting 2002 of the Swiss Chemical Society** in Basel. It was a great scientific event with a record participation of more than 700 chemists and over 300 communications. A full and lively report of this meeting has been given in issue 1–2/2003. I would like to address my thanks to Prof. W.-D. Woggon, chairman of the local organizing committee, as well as to all other members of the organization committee for their commitment.

In Basel, the recipients of the Paracelsus and Werner awards were honoured for their contributions of major significance to chemistry. The **Paracelsus Prize 2002**, the highest award of the Society, was given to Prof. *Martin Quack* from the ETH Zürich in recognition of his outstanding theoretical and experimental contributions to the understanding of molecular kinetics. The **Werner Prize 2002** was awarded to two young chemists: Prof. *Jérôme*

Lacour from the University of Geneva in recognition of his valuable contribution to asymmetric synthesis with chiral anions, and Prof. Werner Nau from the University of Basel for his outstanding work on the development of intelligent probes for supramolecular and biomolecular probes. The prize lectures appear in this CHIMIA issue.

The fall meeting gives young scientists, mostly Ph.D. students, in Switzerland the opportunity to present oral or poster communications, which are all published as abstracts in CHIMIA before the meeting (issue 7–8). Very often this is their first scientific publication. Three years ago, a successful initiative was started to honour the **best oral/poster presentations**, and at the fall meeting 2002 in Basel 18 prizes were awarded. The novelty is now to give the laureates the opportunity to publish their results as a full paper. Most of the laureates have accepted this opportunity, their subjects cover all facets of chemistry: Cinzia Stella (Analytical Chemistry), Carlos García-Echeverría, Erwin Götschi (Medicinal Chemistry), Delphine Bas (Computational Chemistry), Suzanne Gendreizig, Matthias Nagel, Abhigyan Som (Organic Chemistry), David Schürch, Anatolio Pigliucci (Physical Chemistry), Marie-Line Lehaire, Stefan Mundwiler, Vincent Adamo, Katarina M. Fromm, Florian Läng (Inorganic and Coordination Chemistry). I am sure that you will read the contributions of our highly skilled young generation chemists with interest.

André Merbach President SCS

Tubel