CHIMIA **2007**, *61*, No. 4

EDITORIAL



On Friday, October 13, 2006, we held the traditional Fall Meeting of our Swiss Chemical Society (SCS) at the University of Zurich-Irchel. In spite of the 'ominous date' (Friday 13th) the day was a big success. You may frown at my mentioning the ominous date, but do not underestimate the dangerous appeal of irrationality. I dare to state that for most people it is difficult to differentiate between knowing and believing, and this is surely one of the reasons for the growth of irrationality. It seems to me that, with the rapid advancement of science, irrationality in our society is also on the advance. Ceterum censeo a broad education in science is more important than ever.

Happily at the Uni-Irchel we were able to listen to and look at more than 450 presentations in the best tradition of rational chemical science. Many thanks to the organizers Prof. H. Berke and Dr. F. Wild.

Dr. Emmanuel Delamarche from IBM Zurich Research Laboratory received the **Werner Prize** for his work connecting physics with biology.

Prof. Torsten Fiebig and **Prof. Hans-Achim Wagenknecht** received together the **Grammaticakis-Neumann Prize** which is awarded for achievements in the fields of photochemistry and photobiology. The two recipients described their work on DNA photonics and chromophore-functionalized DNA presented in the form of a well thought-out dialogue.

Later in the afternoon, the METTLER TOLEDO Prizes for the best oral presentations and the SCS Prizes for the best Posters were awarded. At this occasion the big auditorium is always full and expectant. We thank METTLER TOLEDO for its generosity in sponsoring this event. It is unfortunate that many students do not take the opportunity to stay and listen to the excellent last lecture of the day.

METTLER TOLEDO-Prize Winners for Oral Presentations

SCS-Prize winners for Poster Presentations

Wee Han Ang Nadine Bohni Fabian Feyen Alexander Lederer Pavlo Maksyutenko Davide Pozzi Joost Vandevondele Alain Zahn	EPFL ETH ETH Polyphor AG EPFL UNIBE EPFL UNIBE	Silvan Eichenberger Andreas Elsener Álvaro Enriquez García Céline Fellay Davide Ferri Wojciech Gawelda Thibault Jarrosson Dao Nguyen Pilar Ruiz Sánchez	UZH ETH UNIGE EPFL ETH EPFL UNIGE UNIGE UZH
		Antje Teichert	UNIBA
		Alexander Titz	UNIBA

At the end of an already interesting day, we had the pleasure to listen to **Prof. Sir Jack Baldwin**, the winner of the **Paracelsus Prize** 2006. Prof. Baldwin's interests are manifold (see for example J. E. Moses, R. M. Adlington, *Chem. Commun.* 2005, 5945). Here I mention only four major successful areas of his research activities: the (2,3)-sigmatropic rearrangement of bis-allylic sulfonium ylides, the development of the Baldwin rules specifying the exo- vs. endo-outcome of cyclization reactions, the penicillin biosynthesis and the biomimetic synthesis of natural products, the latter also being the topic of his Paracelsus lecture.

Prof. Dr. Georg Fráter

President of the Swiss Chemical Society (SCC) Givaudan Schweiz AG, CH-8600 Dübendorf